Lifestyle · Lucy · Makeup

Kylie Cosmetics Review

So, I bought some of the Kylie Jenner lip cosmetics because it’s just all the fucking rage apparently. I have never in my life owned lip liner or even a lipstick. I have dark pink lips already so I have never seen the need until now, I guess. I thought it would be really fun to try and I read like 400 reviews before buying it so I felt really good about the purchase.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

 

I purchase the KoKo K Lip Liner (links below to purchase!)

& the So Cute Lip Gloss.

So this is what my lips look like with nothin’ on dem. And this is me, being lazy as hell and looking ridiculous.

IMG_2675

I put it on at 6:30 this morning, and I applied pretty lightly because I’m a beauty minimalist and didn’t want to look silly or feel uncomfortable. My first initial thoughts about the lip liner was that it went on really smooth which I loved. I wish the color was brighter on my lips, so I was kind of bummed out that it wasn’t as pink on my lips as it is on some other women I’ve seen. I tend to forget that my lips are darker than the average.

My initial thoughts about the gloss was that it was thick as fuck. Like, a lot thicker than I was expecting. I really loved the vanilla smell to it and I like the way it looked on top of the lip liner. It was a very natural look to me. However, about 5 minutes later my lips looked huge (well huge to me at least)!! Those lip plumpers in the formula are no joke. I didn’t mind the look but it defiantly caught me off guard.
** I did throw filters on these photos because the morning light was terrible and it made the color pop out more on the camera. It did actually look like this.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

At around 8:00 am I put some vaseline on because my lips are just generally dry. It didn’t ruin the coverage at all. At this point, I am still impressed with the quality. I had read several places the gloss had major lasting power through daily activities like drinking water, eating, ect.

But not really. I thought the lasting power was pretty terrible. I noticed around 10:00 am that my lips kind of looked crusty! Nothing worse than that… So I re-applied… A little more generously with the liner and the gloss to see if that made a difference.

No. It made it worse! Crust faster! Ugh.

So I re-applied AGAIN at 12:00 pm just the way I had done it at 6:30 am. It still didn’t last the way I was hoping it would.

This is the last picture I took of it.

IMG_2672

This is not my impressed face! I think it looks pinker in this photo becasue I applied and re- applied so much through out the day.

Now, I don’t want to go bashing Kylie Jenner and line because I do think she has great products. A lot of my friends really like them and I am up to the challenge to try the matte lip at some point. I think both of these products would do well on their own or with another lip  product. Like, later in the day I layered the liner with a moisturizer “almost lipstick” I have by Clinique and it was flawless. It looked gorgeous and it didn’t dry out at all. I also think the lip gloss would be crazy cute on bare lips, which I’m gonna try tomorrow.
I will defiantly use both of these products again, I was just not crazy about the combination together.

 

***UPDATE (08/25/16): GLOSS LOOKS BOMB ON IT’S OWN. NO LIP LINER BENEATH = NO CRUSTY MESS!

And here’s a pic of Lulu, she says Hi 🙂 IMG_2618 (1)

Toodles!

xo- Sammy & Lucy

Leave a comment